Community Development SICAP


What is SICAP?

 POBALs new COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT Programme is called Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP).

Click here for SICAP Achievements in Clare for 2016


It aims to tackle poverty, social exclusion and long-term unemployment through local engagement and partnership between disadvantaged individuals, community organisations and public sector agencies.

It was rolled out on 1st April 2015 and will run until December 2017.

It is the successor programme to the outgoing Local and Community Development Programme (LCDP).

It is a national programme and following a public procurement process, contracts for the implementation of the new programme have been awarded.

Social inclusion programmes such as SICAP make a real difference to those in our communities that are suffering disadvantage.

SICAP works under 3 Goals;

  • Goal 1: Empowering Disadvantaged Communities
  • Goal 2: Lifelong Learning
  • Goal 3: Employment

Goal 1 aims to empower disadvantaged communities and individuals to play a greater role with other stakeholders in addressing social inclusion and equality issues. It is underpinned by a community development approach and is in line with the emerging policy context which emphasises the importance of citizen engagement.

Goal 2 seeks to support individuals who are experiencing educational disadvantage to engage with and progress through life-long learning opportunities, using community development approaches. As a first step there is a recognition that people who have a low level of education or skills often need help in understanding what supports are available and what their various pathways into education and learning are.

Goal 3 is to support marginalised individuals who are not in employment and who do not necessarily fall within mainstream employment service provision, in moving closer to the labour market and progressing into employment.


Who is it for?

SICAP has specific ‘target’ groups to ensure it is a targeted and focused programme. Only people who are from one or more of these groups are eligible for support under the programme:

  • Disadvantaged Children and Families
  • Lone Parents
  • New Communities (including Refugees/Asylum Seekers)
  • People living in Disadvantaged Communities
  • People with Disabilities
  • Roma
  • The Unemployed (including those not on the Live Register)
  • Low Income Workers/Household
  • Travellers
  • Young Unemployed People from Disadvantaged areas
  • NEETs (Young people aged 15-24 years who are not in employment, education or training).